Cinematic Photography

Photoshop is awesome. Who invented it? It’s so weird how adding different colors changes your perception of an image! For cinematic-looking photography, it’s all about the teal and orange colors! After using this wonderful tutorial, I was able to make sense of my free Photoshop trial and managed to come up with these pictures. They’re definitely not the best so if anyone who’s good at this has any advice, please let me know.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 7.36.25 PM
My first picture that started it all.  No edits besides a little contrast and brightness. I just added the bars and voila! But it made me want to do it correctly so continue reading!

After failing to achieve that type of picture again, I tried to just take pictures I already had and edit them. You may remember this one from my previous post.

DSC_0499

After about 30 minutes of figuring out how Photoshop works and just moving some lines on curves around, here was the final result:

coffee2

Side by side:

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 3.49.49 PM.png

Another original pic:DSC_0211.jpg

Final result:

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 12.17.29 PMAt this point, I’m just fooling around with everything so I’m definitely going to have to do more research to understand what I’m doing. I still think the edits look a little too green and not enough orange. Hopefully I figure this out before my trial runs out!

Are you guys interested in more pictures? I’m thinking of doing more with people instead of objects next.

Till next time,

432574893534521200216

8 comments on “Cinematic Photography

  1. Take any one photo. Tools: Hue/saturation–save as photo2 and close. Open photo1 again: clone tool. Save as photo3 and close. Open photo1 again… you get the picture. Be courageous and experiment with all your tools, no matrter the beautiful or ugly outcome. Once you’ve dabbled enough with these, the possibilities are endless. Welcome to the world of picture editing. Peace.

    Like

  2. Nice work! I’ve used creativelive.com for a beginning tutorial on photoshop and it was very helpful. I also like to use lightroom for many adjustments and cataloging prior to photoshop (90% of my photos are done in Lightroom (I’m still trying to learn PS myself). Anyway, with Lightroom, I’ve also picked up presets from SLRLounge.com that have a very intuitive process and contains the blue/orange, teal/orange, (and the inverse) tones in the highlights and shadows, so that you can click for the look(s) you want then adjust with the sliders. Hope that is helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

