My Background

My about me page doesn’t really share much of my background so I decided to elaborate here!

So to begin, I was born in India and moved to America when I was 6 years old. Ah the days of kids making fun of my pronunciation – don’t miss that at all. It was definitely tough being immediately thrust into a strange new place, school in America. While I tried to acclimate to my surroundings as quickly as possible, there were my parents, holding steadfastly to Indian customs and traditions. What made it worse was that I had lice when I first moved so my mom decided oh why not just lop it all of – it’s not like I would be going to a new school in a new country and everything. As a result, I looked like a boy for my first year of elementary school. I guess I’m grateful this wasn’t in high school! It was a tough time especially because kids can be mean but somehow I made it through and here I am, a junior nursing major and future nurse practitioner. While I definitely feel more American, I’m still proud of my Indian culture and will make a point to teach my future kids my language, Telugu, as well.

Has anyone else experienced moving somewhere completely different and how did you deal with it?

432574893534521200216

15 comments on “My Background

  1. Oh wow! Nice to learn a little more about you! Sad to hear about the treatment you got in elementary school, but I’m thankful that you were able to get closer to your identity amidst being thrown into American culture! I look forward to reading more of your blog posts and witnessing your journey studying nursing!

    Like

  2. I believe in always falling back to your origin. Glad you intend to teach your children your language. If only I could speak mine. Days like this, I feel like screaming at my parents. All the same, Life is good

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In graduate school, we studied the problems of immigrants. On behalf of immature people, I am so sorry.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw you’re too nice. I didn’t have to deal with anything besides a little laughter at my expense so I’m grateful for that as I know others have had it worse. Congrats to you too! I’ll check it out 🙂

      Like

  4. As a fellow Desi, it’s SO nice to see another Indian on the blogosphere! I’m still a freshman in high school and never had to undergo the difficult transition of moving from India here, but in terms of balancing both cultures I can totally relate. When my mom would pack me idlis for lunch in elementary school I would always get made fun of because of the coconut chutney that I ate with it :(. Now I’m much better at being proud of my culture but it’s still a fine line.

    I’m so glad I found your blog because I absolutely love it! Can’t wait to read more from you.

    -Meghna
    http://www.penintobattle.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Meghna!! I’m so impressed that you’ve started a blog that early. I told myself I would many times at that age but I got too lazy so props to you.

      Haha yes, I would beg to buy school lunches because all that curry does not smell good after it’s been sitting in a lunchbox for a couple hours. Thank you for stopping by! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your posts 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

