Exciting News

Pediatrics is a field in nursing that has always interested me. I think children are amazing, especially the generation of kids now who, being exposed to all different kinds of technology, seem to be getting smarter and smarter. One two-year-old kid at the preschool I volunteer at was able to tell that my heartbeat differed from her’s, saying that mine was slower! When I asked her why that happened, she replied that it was because we were different ages. How cool is that??

I guess the main reason that makes me want to go into this field is the fact that kids, especially babies, can change so much in so little time. Seeing a baby go from only taking half of his bottle and being fed by tubes to by the end of two weeks, drinking the whole bottle normally, is such a great thing to be a part of. For children especially, anything they’re in the hospital can affect their whole life ahead of them and being able to help them reach their full potential later on would be very rewarding! So, I’m excited to announce that I got accepted for a nurse externship position at one of the top children’s hospitals in the US! I’m not sure what units I’ll be rotating on but I know for sure I’ll learn a lot and be able to put that to use in my future career. Please look forward to more of my posts about my experiences this summer!

Thanks,

432574893534521200216

 

 

8 comments on “Exciting News

Leave a comment